Bohol Beach Bliss

I was still a kid when I first went to Bohol. We had a karate tournament in Cebu but went to Bohol right after with the rest of my team as a break for sorts. I was able to make the rounds in all of Bohol’s popular tourist attractions—Chocolate Hills, the Loboc River, the Hanging Bridge, and the Blood Compact Monument. But when I was invited to check out the newest resort in the area—Henann Bohol—I was more than happy to check it out again, especially after the 2013 earthquake that devastated the province.

Upon check in at the resort, all I wanted to do was collapse on their 300-thread count sheets and doze off for the rest of the day. But since we only had three days in Bohol, I wanted to make the most of our stay. After lunch at Henann’s in house restaurant, Coral Cafe, the boyfriend and I went straight to the beach.

Alona Beach

IMG_0069

Henann has daybeds on their beachfront so we chose a spot, made ourselves comfortable, and took a couple of (couple) selfies.  Alona beach is white sand and relatively quiet compared to Boracay. While the quality of sand cannot be compared to the latter, it is as powdery but has a fairly insignificant amount of small rocks mixed in.

The boyfriend and I both agreed that we would definitely go here instead of Boracay if we were looking to swim and relax by the beach sans the heavy partying at night. Not that Alona beach doesn’t have night life; there are beachfront establishments, with a more laidback vibe, selling food and liquor so you’re not limited to eating or drinking at your resort.

SUP, Yoga, Ice Cream

Buzz Cafe20150510_170400_resized

Don’t forget to check out the Buzz Cafe along Alona beach for their ice cream. With flavors like jackfruit, malunggay, spicy ginger, and avocado made into incredibly creamy (emphasis on creamy!) frozen treats, it’s definitely a must-try. Right beside it is also a dive shop where you can rent a SUP. Since I wasn’t a very good swimmer, I spent most of the afternoon atop the board and simply looking down at the coral formations while the boyfriend snorkelled alongside me (well, relatively nearby).

SUP Yoga

Sunset SUP Yoga

For practicing yogis, they have morning yoga at Oasis Resort from 7:30-8:30am for Php600 which unfortunately is sort of out of the question for me since I wasn’t an early riser. So if you’re like me, you can try their SUP Sunset Yoga from 4:30-5:30pm for Php800 instead. But if you want to make the best of Bohol, also try their Yoga and Snorkeling on Balicasag Island package for Php1200 per person (minimum of 4 pax) which includes boat transfers, yoga mats, and fruits.

Henann Bohol

Henann Pool

This new resort boasts a 400-room capacity, 5 swimming pools, a convention center, gym, and spa. It’s the biggest resort in Alona beach as of this writing. The best thing about it is that it’s the most accessible high-end luxury accommodation on the island. No long walks required to get your fill of salt water and sea breeze as it’s literally a few steps from the beach.

Henann Rooms

The rooms were nicely done in a beige, green, and sea foam color palette, tasteful furniture, with tropical touches here and there. And the sheets! Have I mentioned the sheets? I could go here and just stay in if I could. It’s definitely the plan for my boyfriend and me when we go back after his Bar exam in November because I have GCs from a press tour.

Baclayon and Dauis Churches

Baclayon Church

Baclayon Church

Because of the aforementioned 2013 earthquake, a lot of the decade old structures in the area collapsed. Two of the most iconic that did were the Baclayon and Dauis Churches. Both are undergoing major restoration.

Dauis Church

Dauis Church

Drop by Dauis Church and get bottles of their famed “healing” water for a small donation of Php5.00. The water is fresh and is reported to be pure alkaline despite the area being surrounded by salt water. Hey, it never hurt to believe in miracles. And the donation is used to rebuild the church. Also, check out the antique and heritage artifacts housed in the Baclayon Musuem. Entrance to the museum pays for the revitalization of the church too.

Can’t wait to go back after the Bar (the boyfriend’s, not mine) to redeem our 3-day stay at Henann. Hopefully, the churches will be back to its former glory and there’ll be…wait for it…a Bohol new world worth exploring! HAHA

Leave a comment