Kinda Roughing It: Dal-luyon Café, Gallery, and Accommodations, San Juan, La Union

One of my broad comm professors from UP said this before as she was telling us how she met her husband—that she was one of those girls you can take to the mountains and also the city.

She said it in a nicer way but more or less, the message was something to that effect.

That statement has always stuck with me because I think I’m the same way. I do admit that I do have expensive taste at times but I’m also perfectly good roughing it out, like camping camping—I mean, I was a girl scout during my primary and secondary education

So when my college friends and I decided on a whim to book a trip to La Union last Holy Week just like old times, we had to settle for a fan room with a common comfort room.

Now this isn’t camping camping, but I’m not going to lie, part of me panicked at the thought of staying in a fan room during summer but when we arrived, our digs were better than expected.

Dal-Luyon Digs

We were a group of 6 (plus two toddlers) so we had a fan room per pair and it literally just had a mattress with pillows and a wall fan.

Because I panicked a little when I found out that we were staying in a fan room, I brought my own electric fan but didn’t actually need to use it because the hut was relatively cool even during noon. That’s sustainable architecture for you. They do have AC rooms with private comfort rooms but I have no idea how much they cost.

The hut will set you back 500 a night/head which isn’t bad tbh. The comfort rooms are as clean and neat as your companions are. But they are routinely cleaned every so often in a day so if you’re pretty low-maintenance, I don’t think you’d have a problem.

Yes, they have parking.

Café and Gallery

So Dal-luyon is owned by one of the co-founders of Tam-awan Gallery in Baguio. So needless to say that Dal-luyon has the same artsy, local, sustainable vibe. The café where they serve local food and beer is decked out in artworks by local artists.

Food-wise, it’s pretty much what you’d expect from local resorts. Think liempo, pancit, tapa, stuff like that. The servings were decent bordering on generous. If you’re ordering beers, it’s pretty much the same rate everywhere. But at Dal-luyon, you get to enjoy the artsy laidback atmosphere. They even have a bonfire pit for guests called a dap-ay which in Sagada refers to an open congregation space made of stone slabs with a bonfire pit at the center—perfect for summer night bonfires and inuman

Points of Interest

IMG_6156[1]

A 2-minute walk will take you the beach fronting Flotsam and Jetsam. It’s less crowded here although in my experience, the waves are usually bigger too. If you want to be seen, add Flotsam and Jetsam to your evening itinerary.

San Juan’s main beach and the usual attractions are a Php 30 trike ride away. By foot, it’s about 12-15 minutes away based on my pace at least.

Cleanbeach Co Coffee shop is also nearby. We weren’t able to go but it’s a less mainstream alternative to El Union and coffee is legit according to my coffee connoisseur/amateur barista friend. I really enjoyed the Asian food at Seawadeeka and the smoothie bowls at Makai Bowls too. Might be worth checking out if you like healthy-ish grub.

Details

Dal-Luyon FB

Chit Asignacion contact: 0917 553 4078

2 responses to “Kinda Roughing It: Dal-luyon Café, Gallery, and Accommodations, San Juan, La Union

Leave a comment